Capital adventures

By marchmont

Sunny corner

Unlike yesterday I was up with a purpose this morning. I still didn't sleep well though Fi and Jane helped.

Up because the forecast was right and summer had returned, though a tad humid. Had a French breakfast of croissants, apricot jam and real coffee in the garden. Margiotta's have started packaging the croissants in individual plastic bags. They lose their crispiness.

Then I attacked the garden for 4 hours. The new fence brings new possibilities and I planted the soldier's button and the recuperated rose. Worked my way right round the back hand weeding and hauling out thug Japanese anemones. I'd already depleted the Michaelmas daisies. Sorted the sleeper in the front which took a few goes and planted the rhododendron and the trampled bleeding heart. Not sure it will recover. Then I planted some seedlings, sorted the remaining pots and tied up sweet peas.

And then I sat in the garden in my sunny spot sewing till 7. There were noisy neighbours - one lot with something electrical and whiny, strimmer? And the folk in #13 with a very whiny grandchild. I cut the grass.

My water lily is doing well, 3 leaves. Willow spent most of the day lying under the chair though I had to stop her chasing a frog. Checked the bike and it's ok. Think the man at Halford's was right and it was the bike lock holder.

Watched a bit of TV but well before 10 it was time for bed. My thighs tell me I've worked hard plus almost 6000 steps!

I see we may back to 'normal' by August. J & D discussed the pointless exercise of counting cases. If only the media would stop giving daily useless figures. Hospitalised and ICU are the key ones, even deaths as reported is suspect. I didn't come close enough to anybody today to catch anything.

F2F - 1
Phone calls - 0
Virtual - 0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.