pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Quick 18

There are moments in life that can be so utterly insane that they serve as markers and when something similar happens again in the future, you can look back and say “well at least what is happening now, isn’t as bad as that!”

That is the cycle I am in with work at present, I have never been so busy or known so much pressure to be piled on as I am dealing with at present. I am also incredibly lucky to have such a brilliant team around me to carry some of the load and guide me accordingly. History will repeat, but will be slightly altered this time next year as my guru/mentor will have finally fully retired. It will be interesting (for me at least) to see if in a year’s time, I look back and say well at least it wasn’t as bad as last year. I doubt it.

Against that backdrop, when my father suggested a game of golf in the evening, I was quick to accept (despite not having touched a golf ball and/club for about two years). We had a very pleasant, if poorly scored around the best kept secret course in the South Lakes, which is Beckside. It’s a small, family run, nine-hole course with plenty of slopes and undulating greens to keep you guessing.

It was so nice being out somewhere different, having a bit of one on one time with my father and actually hitting a golf ball again! Considering the gaps between play the performance wasn’t as horrendous as I was anticipating.

A fine end to another mental day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.