pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Argh!

I blipped too soon.

Yesterday’s insanity was nothing compared to that which faced us today, but somehow we came out the other side of it. A day which was easily the busiest and most stressful working day I have ever faced. Yet somehow, somehow, the important stuff got done and everyone was delivered of what they required.

I would like to say it was rewarding, but it was almost too much at one point and no working day need ever begin at 6.30am. What have I become? A corporate shill working his balls off for the benefit of those who would turn and accuse him of seeing his customers as “easy pickings”. Charming!

The true reward at the end of the day was knowing that a lad’s night in beckoned with lucky charm, Owen, joining me for an extra night to watch England take on Germany. It was extra special, because my father joined us too and was treated to my’boy’s unique footballing strategies and monkey dance celebrations. We drank beer (two of us anyway), scoffed burgers, cheered, celebrated, demolished ice cream and then went for a walk to calm us down a bit.

Still needing a little further calming, I took to the yarden to water the flowers and found the skeletal remains of a small mouse in the spout of my watering can, which was pretty weird. 

Totally mental day, which yet again finished very very well.

PLUS, there’s a much improved chance that it might actually be coming home, you know…….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.