Beinghere

By Beinghere

Monkshood

This is an extremely toxic plant, with a long history of being used for poisoning!,
I noticed this on our walk in the woods this morning. It seemed to have sprung from nowhere. I’m glad I didn’t pick it because the poison can be absorbed through the skin.

We had a good walk, then popped along to Suzy’s to see her and the girls, then home again for lunch.
In the afternoon I did some tidying in the garden, then Mary-Ann came round for a cuppa. After she left I set up the elderflower cordial to strain, using a sieve and a tea towel. It took about four hours, then I bottled it. It looks good, and I’m currently enjoying some with fizzy water, and it tastes delicious.
I heard yesterday about several (more than ten) young people in the area who all have COVID and are not isolating. Then Suzy told me a friend and colleague of hers has it. Then her husband came in for lunch and said someone at his work has tested positive. I’ve just been speaking to a neighbour who told me another neighbour, two doors away, is also positive. He has had both his vaccinations. At least he, and all his family are strictly isolating.
It looks like the number of positive cases will be far greater than previous waves, but the saving grace is the vaccines, because many people, particularly younger ones, have given up social distancing, or following any of the regulations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.