Low Rider

In order to avoid the chaos of the ongoing joinery works, I took the bike out for a ride to Coniston. Considering that we are still living under some restrictions, I was surprised how packed the roads were. The last few miles into the village were just a slow crawl behind a convoy of motor homes and old folk who didn’t seem to know where they were going! Decided to stop and let everyone get to where they were going whilst I had a pleasant cup of tea sat in the sunshine outside Meadowdore Cafe.
Setting off again, I decided to take the long way home - usually less traffic and there are good views of the lake. Had to stop and take this photo though, as I’ve not seen Coniston Water this low for some considerable time - normally the water is almost right up to the wall. Much though I hate to say it, we probably could do with a bit of rain.
Got home and immediately turned round and went out to the gym. A reasonable session, though my heart wasn’t really in it. I think yesterday’s long run in the sun had taken more out of me than I thought.
Just pottered for the rest of the afternoon. The joiner sprang the unwelcome news that two of the new doors were slightly damaged when he unwrapped them. One we can live with, as it is the door for the airing cupboard, and the mark will not be seen. The other door will require replacing though as the mark is clearly visible. The bad news is that it will be Tuesday before the replacement arrives.
It’s not as if we need to rush though - the earliest date the decorators can give me is the third week in September! Still that gives us two months to decide what colour we want everything - every cloud and all that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.