carliewired

By carliewired

Wetlands - Tranquille

Can you really see
my mountains this morning? - I
can't see them either!

~ carliewired

I drove straight to Tranquille this morning at 7. It was 18 C which felt cool after the days we've just had. The wetlands there are at the east end of Kamloops Lake. We're still living with smoke in our valleys. The sun looks red through the smoke levels. 

The road to Red Lake has a warning sign posted. Part of that route is closed as it's too close to fire fighting. I turned around at the gate for Cooney Bay and drove slowly to catch peeks into the wetlands. Several American coots are nested in reeds by the water's edge. It was all rather still, quiet and grey there this morning. I took a photo back to Tranquille Farms across the wetlands. The water levels had been receding but the hot spell has increased the melt in the mountains and raised the rivers again. 

I picked up my drive-thru breakfast to take home with me. 

A quilt store that I frequent has put out the call for donations for those who lost everything in the Lytton fire this week. I have a Trip Around the World quilt that might give some comfort to someone. I will take it to the quilt store this morning before it's too hot to move around. 

The forecast is for a high of 35 C with a risk of a thunderstorm and showers later in the afternoon. It's the lightning that I fear. Everything is tinder dry. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.