carliewired

By carliewired

Sunrise - NOT Sunset

With a limited
visibility, choices
for photos are slim

~ carliewired

I was up and out before 6. The temperature read as 22 C which felt cool considering where we've been. 

I drove across the bridge to Mission Flats hoping to see down to Kamloops Lake and to catch the plume of the Sparks Lake wildfire. Visibility is so poor that neither was possible. 

I parked in front of a very large puddle near the river. This was, no doubt, a leftover from our downpour last Thursday (Canada Day). I tippie-toed along the edge of it and managed to slip into the muck with the side of my sandal. I was less than pleased as I planned to be in the grocery store a little later. I scraped the worst of it off on the dry grass. As I turned to right myself, there was a large bald eagle poised beside the river just waiting for me. The sun was shining red behind him in the sky, reflecting the same in the river below and in the puddle before him. The stars had aligned! 

We are looking at a high of 33 C today with a risk of thunderstorms later in the day/evening. Yesterday's threat of a thunderstorm did not transpire, thankfully. 

It's another day to stay indoors with the A/C to avoid the worst of the smoke. The province currently has 170+ wildfires to oversee. Today we're beginning to hear some jurisdictional wrangles as the call for more resources and fire fighters is heard. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.