carliewired

By carliewired

In the Cool of Morning

The river is an
attraction to all living
things - even to me!

~ carliewired

I arrived in Riverside Park at 7. There were already some pickle ball games in session. It was a comfortable 21 C. The smoke was lighter with the air quality listed as 5. 

It made for an enjoyable walk along the Rivers Trail. A squirrel came bopping along to greet me. 

There was a lot of bird activity along the river shore. A big squad of ring-billed gulls was taking up the shoreline. Crows were down to the river having a bath. I watched one youngster who was a big as its parent begging to be fed....and it was. My delight was the big brood of common merganzers (gooslanders) nestled down in the sand. There seemed to be only a female adult patrolling more than a dozen young ones. Mama got them out onto the river and moved them upstream. 

I left my quilted heart (#58) attached to a bench near the river. 

I picked up my drive-thru breakfast on my way home. I was inside in time to catch the 8 AM news on the radio. 

The weather forecast is a high of 31 C today with a risk of a thunderstorm in the afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.