carliewired

By carliewired

McArthur Island South

Just a jaunt around
the island this morning - deer,
gulls, the marmot clan

~ carliewired

I was out at 7 in 18 C. It felt refreshingly cool and the air quality has improved a great deal in the last day. I was able to leave windows open overnight. No thunderstorms to report but the threat is hanging over us.

I drove around McArthur Island Park, first passing the Butterfly Garden. No geese were to be seen today. I moved on to the south side where marmots continue to be in abundance. They seemed to be spending their time sunning on the rocky edge beside the Rivers Trail. My mountains are looking a bit hazy again this morning. One lone deer scampered across a playing field to avoid the lawnmower nearby. 

I left my quilted heart on a bench beside the river. I could see across the river to Rabbit Island. There was a large convention of gulls on its shoreline. At high water, Rabbit Island is cut off entirely from the rest of the city. The gulls must know they are well protected there. 

I picked up my breakfast croissant and coffee, bought a small bag of groceries, then headed home.

Our day is to be warmer than yesterday with a high of 34 C. It will be an inside day for me.

P.S. I got my 2nd covid vaccine yesterday. My daughter drove me to the appointment and collected afterwards. We went out for ice cream to celebrate. I have a sore arm today, but no other after effects thus far. I am so relieved to have this completed!!! Only 33% of all eligible Canadians are completely vaccinated at this point. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.