Colour

The colour of my
morning got me out the door
before my coffee! 

~carliewired

I was up just before 4 AM. I was in my kitchen grinding coffee beans when I noticed a bit of colour in the sky. The sun is so far north that I have to peek through a very tall cedar hedge to see it rise. That little bit of pink had me out the door, abandoning my morning coffee to chase the light. 

As I drove down my hill I decided to take the quickest route to Vantage Point near the airport. On my way through Brocklehurst I was on the lookout for roaming deer. Today, I found three beautiful bucks browsing through the neighbourhood paying no mind at all to the traffic on the main road. I pulled over quickly, rolled down my car window and got a shot of the one that was on my side of the road. 

I parked near the Rivers Trail at Vantage Point. As I stepped out of my car an osprey landed above me on a power pole. I caught it looking into the light in the east and just before it took off again. 

I got a panorama of the pink and blue sky over Brocklehurst, my mountains and the Thompson River. I stood by the river's edge to get a look at the reflections in the river. Mission accomplished, I headed for home along Ord Road. My last stop was a look up at my neighbourhood against the morning sky. 

I was home to start my coffee by 5 AM. The sun poured into my house just before 6. 

I'm in for the day. My daughter will be here this morning to give me some help. 

The forecast is for a mainly cloudy day with a good chance of showers, a high of 25 C and a risk of a thunderstorm in the late afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.