carliewired

By carliewired

93 F/ 34 C

In the morning, the
park is a patchwork of the
most beautiful things

~carliewired

I was out the door at 5:30 and on my way to McArthur Island Park. There is just a bit of smoke in the air, but the day promises to be sunny and hot.

I drove in at the east entrance to discover immediately a buck grazing by the entrance sign. I made hand gestures to a lady walking by to indicate the deer. She pulled out her cell phone and began taking photos. 

I drove on to the Butterfly Garden which is looking more summery all the time. I got a shot of the foot bridge behind the flower beds, then left a quilted heart on a bench. 

On the west side I found a marmot sunning on a stair rail then got a shot of my mountains across the playing fields. 

I found a herd of 5 does around the mini golf course. Two wandered into the course, while the rest browsed the woods just outside the fence. I didn't stay long enough to find out how the 2 would join the herd. 

On the south side there were some marmots up and about. They were willing to pose for me this morning even though I had no snacks to offer. 

I got a shot looking across the river to our downtown. 

My last photo is a small flock of Canada geese browsing along the Rivers Trail. The teenagers are almost as big as the parents now. 

I'm in for the day with some office duties and my feet up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.