6 AM in the Park

It felt like fall this
morning - wet, misty and cool.
Will we have summer?

~carliewired

I was brewing my coffee by 4:30 while keeping an eye on the sky. I'd read the forecast for the day and it did not encourage me at all. Once I'd drained my mug I thought I'd better get on with my camera before the weather worsened. I took a shot from my deck as the mist was rising off the river. It didn't feel like a summer morning at all. 

At 6 I was on my way to McArthur Island. I drove along the north side where the slough is full and glassy. I got out to look at the flowers in the Butterfly Garden. The hollyhocks are in abundance and standing taller than I am. I found a very short hibiscus in bloom. It's one of the plants that winters in a greenhouse and is carefully tended by the city staff. 

I moved on to find a doe grazing along the perimeter of the parking lot on the west side. She was daintily sampling the vegetation as she inched along. 

On the south side there were few Canada geese to be seen. A little bunch was taking up a portion of the Rivers Trail. A fellow who feeds the geese came along on his bicycle. When the geese heard his voice, they launched themselves to get near to him hoping for breakfast. He explained to me that he'd already put out the food at a different point on the trail and had nothing left to offer. A senior lady I often see walking here came around the curve to join us. She carries a switch with her to fend off the geese should they become aggressive. We had a brief chat and moved on. 

The marmots were doing what marmots do best - eating grass. I focused on those along the river's edge. As I walked the trail, heads would pop up to see what I was up to.

I was home again by 7 AM. I hope my daughter will be back this morning. There are always more jobs to do. 

We are to expect a mainly cloudy day with showers this afternoon, a high of 24 C and a risk of thunderstorms once again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.