carliewired

By carliewired

Beside the North Thompson

What a delight to
see some blue sky with clouds this
morning - it won't last!

~ carliewired

I was out before 7 putting my recycling bin on the street. Then I made my getaway. My target this morning was the Rivers Trail by the two bridges on the North Thompson River. 

The air quality this morning was 3 (low risk) and the temperature was 21 C. There is a haze but, looking up, one can see blue sky with clouds. I have a feeling there will be more smoke coming in today, so this improvement is temporary. 

I parked my little red bomber across from the Rivers Trail on Schubert Drive, then walked north under the two bridges and back. The Halston Bridge is mad with traffic at this time of the morning. The railway bridge is very quiet. The Rivers Trail goes under these two bridges and always has a lot of pedestrian traffic. I find it a challenge to get a chance to release my quilted heart unobserved. 

I've been listening to our national radio, CBC, in its discussions about the Lytton fire. There have been claims that this devastating fire was caused by the Canadian National Railway which runs through the town of Lytton. Of course, the railway company denies it, yet there is a witness and a video of a flaming railcar loaded with lumber just south of Lytton that day. Further, there is great concern that this horrible event is not being properly inspected or investigated. In the province of Ontario, there is legislation to fascilitate this kind of situation. Not so in the province of British Columbia. The railway company is concerned about getting back to business. In doing so, they've begun reparations which could well contaminate/obliterate any evidence of their negligence/culpability. There are also huge concerns that this could happen elsewhere in the province as our hot and dry spell persists. This rail line passes through many communities, including my own. 

As I'm walking under the rail bridge this morning, which is used by the Canadian National Railway, I was wondering what the risks are here. I left my quilted heart on a cottonwood branch within view of the railway bridge. I was happy to see so many pollinators at work this morning. It gives me hope. 

Our forecast is for a high of 30 C today, which will feel cool after what we've had. There is still the threat of a thunderstorm this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.