Monday Morning

After inclement
weather, we see some blue in
the sky - we have hope! 

~carliewired

The weather has been wreaking havoc with my arthritis. I had to start taking medication again to cope with it. That made my morning with my camera a rather late one. 

I started my morning with coffee. It was very necessary so that I might function. Then I was off to the flooring store to start the process of replacing the carpet in my house. 

When I was done at the store, I tucked my chosen sample of flooring into the back seat and headed down the hill towards Riverside Park. I stopped at the Columbia Street Lookout for a panorama of the north valley. Then I drove down to the park and stopped near the railway bridge. I caught the Canadian Pacific train crossing the bridge. A little Asian lady with a cell phone indicated that she wanted me to take her photo by the river.  I tried asking questions, but quickly realized she didn't understand me. We made the best of hand gestures and encouraging smiles. I watched the Canada geese enjoying the only beach available within the construction zone of the park. They were making the most of the no-people portion behind the construction fencing. 

I drove over to the west side of the park and left my car near the community garden. There was a great deal of human activity throughout the park. I was reminded why I prefer the early morning visits. 

The park has had some wind damage in the past days. A crew was trimming trees, chipping up the wood and clearing up the telltale signs. 

I walked up the path to the bridge stopping halfway to get shots back towards the park and across the confluence to my mountains. Heading back to my car I met a policeman who was looking for people who'd started a fire in the park. I pointed up the path indicating I'd just met some homeless people moving along to the bridge. 

The 'highrise' marmots were in full view at the Celtic Stones. They were getting a lot of attention today. Other photographers were interested in them too. 

I was home for 1 PM, a late morning for me. I'm in for the day and will be needing a nap shortly. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud with a high of 24 C, a chance of showers and a severe thunderstorm watch.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.