Saxifraga

One of my successful plant buys this year, it’s giving a lot of pleasure with its little deep pink flowers.

I really should get myself an iPad collage app for these photographs. Any suggestions? There are so many on the App Store, and I suspect that most of them are designed for phones, not iPads.

As I mentioned in a comment on someone else’s blip (Winsford, I think), we’ve had lots of weather today. Grey, with haar this morning, then sunny and a bit sultry (and warm enough to sit out for a while after we’d done a bit of booking up of various things to look forward to, including something reasonably soon and something for next year), then thunder and finally pretty heavy rain that caused some localised flooding in Canonmills and (more seriously) Stockbridge. After the rain, the air improved, although it is still pretty hazy out there, and you can barely see Calton Hill from here.

After some supper, we watched a couple of episodes of a new documentary series on Ernest Hemingway, which I found very enlightening and very well done. The Guardian also liked it, I see. Apart from reading For Whom the Bell Tolls many decades ago and, more recently, Mrs Hemingway, which was an early book group book, I have remained largely ignorant of Hemingway’s life and works. I must put the latter right, and as to the former - well there are still four episodes to go, so I’m looking forward to those.

I went to the gym for a sweaty time on the elliptical, which was fine and fully socially distanced, but when I went to the bit of the gym where you can lift weights, etc. I came away because there were quite a few young men not always being wholly careful about their mask wearing. I am rethinking some of my choices about the gym attendance and fitness routines as a result.

Edit: for the record, good BBC report on the flooding here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.