Swift (again)

The first full day of self-isolation, in the wake of Marianna's positive Covid test. Thankfully she and Jack are feeling better today. Jack and Frieda should be getting their own test results by the end of today. But with luck, they will only experience mild symptoms, at worst.
Richard and I went to our local walk-in test centre first thing this morning, and hope to get our results tomorrow. Neither of us has any symptoms at the moment, so fingers crossed.
This all meant that the busy Tuesday we would normally have had - with Frieda - has been very quiet instead. Richard, who does not have to isolate at the moment, did a food shop for Jack and Marianna.  I've baked bread.  I've also caught up with some Greek course revision. It's our last Zoom session tonight, until September, so I'm glad to have done some proper preparation. I'll miss the sessions: they're intense, and tiring, but also cheery and fun. I've signed on for the next module in September, and at least some of the current group will be back together online then.
Today's practice has been all about constructions such as 'I should...', 'I want to...', 'I can...' etc. These all take the subjunctive form, and there are parallels there with other European languages (for all sorts of reasons related to a past life, I speak French and Spanish, and that has given me something of a baseline for making sense of Greek grammar).
And apart from that, I've dabbled with a bit of swift-watching in the garden. It's been showery, and therefore not a good day for settling down and watching a nest site. But I still hope to do that, for some closer sightings,  before they all migrate South in a few weeks' time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.