Back home at twilight

After staying overnight in Auckland, getting to the unit was merely a short taxi ride. Early in the day my programme seemed quiet and easily managed, so I took an hour out of potential times for patient assessments and attended (by ZOOM) the incident review meeting which workload has kept me away from for a couple of months. Interesting to be back.

Then, immediately after the weekly MDT meeting I discovered a number of Mental Health Act assessments were due today, and other meetings that suddenly appeared. Fortunately, I was able to delegate some of the ordinary tasks to the registrar, and concentrate on the legal issues. Finally finished and was collected by S and we drove back, which journey was amongst the least stressful such journeys, despite one point where an incident slowed the traffic badly.

"Incident" entered my consciousness a third time today, when a fellow DAMHS in a neighbouring DHB rang to tell me of an incident where a patient recently discharged from their unit had deliberately driven a car into a Police Car (in the central city) and was in the Custody unit. 

Tempting to label today as having been an incidental day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.