If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Acorn Barnacles.

A strange camera happening!  Today our main activity was to visit Chanonry Point and hope to see Dolphins.  The point on the Moray Firth is said to be the best place to see Dolphins from the land in Europe.  There were only two quick views of the dolphins while we were there.  To fill in time between the showers and to take my mind off the cold wind I took lots of photos.  Birds - eider flying past, two types of gull flying, terns fishing, the lighthouse etc etc.  I had the camera on burst for the bird shots.

Imagine my consternation when I get the card out of the camera and find only 6 yes six shots.  There should have been at ten times that number.  The camera must have automatically changed cards was my first thought, so out it came.   Wrong not a single shot from the day on there.  What happened and where they went I haven't a clue, I could here the shutter clicking.  I have checked and every single shot I have taken since is there and perfect.  I am stumped.

Of the 6 rather uninteresting shots this one of Acorn Barnacles  (Semibalanus balanoides ) seemed the best.  I only took it because the barnacles where much further up the beach than I would have expected.  However with so many Dolphin watchers around I suppose they could have been carried up the beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.