Awaiting Euan

The yellow wellies which were such a feature of the Winter visit by Euan and his Mum and Dad, are now too small for him, so today these arrived in the post and were added to the pile of things in the corner of the living room which will travel south with us when they arrive next month.  I hope Euan likes them.

I wrote a list today and have managed to tick off all but one of the jobs.  I've tidied up the dead-heading; staked out a couple of leaning chicory plants in the mini meadow; cut more sweet peas which are the best ever crop this year; fed all the pots and window boxes and baskets; put a loaf in the breadmaker; picked the first blackcurrants and worked on my scarecrow.  I've managed to fit the jobs around the mountain stage of Le Tour with the riders having to ascend the fearsome Mont Ventoux twice.  I remember this climb from the 60s when my older brother was getting in to cycling.  One of his heroes was Tommy Simpson who sadly died on this mountain, having a cocktail of amphetamines and alcohol in his blood and suffering with a high temperature.  The mountain also figured in one of those cycling stories when Chris Froome ran up part of it after a crash put his bike out of action in 2016.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.