The secret garden

That is what this little path through to the french quarter is to me. Only a tiny space, but full to bursting by the path, carnations, the tall pink flowers with soft leaves that the kids call ‘nana flowers’ because they originally came from Jon’s mum, then some huge teasels which I don’t like, but I know the birds do, so have left them. So many lovely plants too above and all round the pond.

I woke still with the headache after lots of horrible dreams, so didn’t feel very rested. But my head was definitely better than it was yesterday, and I managed to do a few of the jobs I’d had planned for yesterday.
Trimmed the verge but not all of it. I discovered my 26 year old strimmer wouldn’t work. Annoyed, I took it apart, but even with my home grown engineering skills (ha ha) I couldn’t fix it, so it was consigned to the bin. I proceeded with the long handled shears. They are quite hard work on puny arms so I had to keep having a rest, and when I was resting, a churchgoer parked on the bit of the verge I hadn’t done. So instead of getting worked up about it, I did the ironing instead, while watching The Importance of Being Ernest. I really enjoyed that. My head continued to very slowly ease. I planted up a new hanging basket with 99% home grown from seed little plants. I also added a geranium that I hadn’t grown, but it was in the broken basket which I have had to throw away.

With Jon’s help I refitted my fixed bike basket onto my bike. There are quite a few other things wrong with my bike. I made Jon cycle it up the lane so that he could see what I meant instead of trying to explain the creaky pedal problem. He thinks it’s the bearings that have gone. Also the gears are bent so only 5 work, instead of 15, and one one brake works. Plus I want new handlebars that curve towards me. He said it is better to get a new bike. :-(

After the film had finished Jon and I went to Weybourn beach with our little beach chairs. It’s an interesting beach, with only pebbles, and two huge stepped drops down to the sea. Lots of fishermen there. We sat and just looked out to sea, discussed plans for our next holiday (hopefully Edinburgh in October with the caravan) and generally relaxed. The car park is free after 6pm so we plan more evenings down there.

Have done some more pruning and weeding, before a quick catch up with mum on FaceTime before a nice bath. Jon and Henry are watching the football, but my headache seems to be better now, so I have some other things I’d prefer to do.

Back to work tomorrow. Really hope it isn’t hot!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.