A Day In The Life

By Irish59

It isn’t easy being green…

A couple of days ago I blipped the summer squash picked from our garden, which included a white cabbage moth, an insect we do not want to see on our broccoli plants. Every single day we watch them fluttering around the yard • But, why, you ask? • This small moth does have a place in this world but it likes laying eggs on cole crops, such as broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts and cabbage. If you’re a gardener of any of these vegetables you know them as a nuisance. If left alone their larvae will eat 100% of the plant’s leaves. Sadly, only their long stringy veins will remain. They will also infiltrate and destroy the vegetable head if one has formed • These “green worms” are velvety and soft. Kinda cute, actually. They become visible when they’re about as long as a grain of rice, but the more they eat, the bigger they become. It happens quickly too over a period of a couple of weeks • Believe me when I say we learned all of this the hard way ;) • Yesterday I plucked off 11 of various sizes, and 6 more today. I give them to the birds to eat, as it seems more natural, and definitely better, than treating the plants to repel the moth • I admit I’m readily known as the Great Green Worm Hunter, the finest in our garden :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.