Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Marmot

I was running early for an appointment in Tucson so I stopped briefly at the Reid Park Zoo, which was on my way.  Quick stops are worth the cost of membership.

Marmots belong to the squirrel family. The closest living relatives of marmots are ground squirrels and prairie dogs. There are 14 species of giant ground squirrels found primarily in North America and Eurasia. These rodents are large and heavy, weighing 3 to 7 kg, depending upon the species.  Length of the bulky body is 30 to 60 cm, with a short tail of 10 to 25 cm.

The most vicious thunderstorms I have ever experienced are AZ monsoon thunderstorms. When they hit, they often hit hard.  Very hard. House shakingly hard. I could use a little less of the tropical storm strength winds but am really grateful for the rain. Kept me awake until 3 am last night. More wet to come this week!  Fire restrictions have been lifted in most of the Coronado National Forest.

If you have time, these are my favorite back blips from my week-long stay in the mountains.
silhouette of vultures with colorful skies
thirsty coatimundi
large black bear with cubs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.