2/5ths

There we have it. My first day as a 2/5 retired person. 

I was tempted to be a proper Older Person and go to a garden centre for coffee, but resisted the urge. 

I did change routine of course, and went to the farm shop - normally I would do that on a Wednesday or Thursday. Radical, huh… 

The shop aims to be stocked up for being busiest at weekends, so the jury is out on whether I will do the same next week. 

My radical re-boot of my system did not stop me having coffee in the orchard after the tedious stuff had been sorted out. It was a very tranquil and enriching few moments. 

Apart from a bit of laundry, for the rest of the day I forced myself to do very little. Warm sunshine helped. 

Physically, I was pleased to find my heel has still not suffered a reaction to Sunday night’s hiking. 

Mentally, things were more of a struggle, mostly on account of pandemic developments here. I suspect this was triggered by talking about holidays with the checkout person in the farm shop. Sometimes just having your faced rubbed in it brings the whole situation into full view. 

She is in a much worse position than me, having had to find and fund something in Scotland for a family of four, so I should just be grateful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.