carliewired

By carliewired

The Red Ball

The sun shines red through
the layers of smoke in our
valleys -  will they lift?

~ carliewired

Just after 6 this morning, I did a quick tour of the Butterfly Garden in McArthur Island Park. Again, no butterflies, but certainly lots of mosquitoes. The air quality index read as 3 (low risk) and the temperature was 19 C

It is disturbing to look up at the red sun in the sky. It reflects the same most eerily in the water. 

The garden flowers are looking splendid. The lilies are in full bloom. Most flowers for this location are sun-loving plants. I noticed marigolds this time. It is Kamloops' official flower. 

In 2017, Kamloops became British Columbia's first designated 'Bee City'. This means the city is dedicated to protecting pollinators and their habitats. I would like to see more being done in this respect. 

I left my quilted heart along the path to the pedestrian bridge near the Butterfly Garden. There's lots of foot traffic in the park so I might expect my heart to be collected soon. 

I picked up my breakfast at the drive-thru, then headed home. 

We're looking at a high of 35 C today and no hopes of the smoke leaving us any too soon. I'm inside again for the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.