A day in the life

By Shelling

Visited

One of the many nice things of being a teacher is that you get to be friends with people you otherwise wouldn't meet due to age differences. Some of them get to be friends for life. I was called by one of those "old students" from the eighties when I lived in the north of Sweden. 

She is here with some friends to cycle the small roads of Öland for a few days but decided to take a day off cycling to visit me instead. We made lunch together and spent the afternoon in the past, the now and the future, talking a lot and walking a little. Of course I showed her The Garden which she loved. I usually take visitors to The Garden but this year it feels special to have visitors at all. She's my first visitor in a long time, my old friends really hasn't had the chance to go anywhere due to the pandemic. It feels like life has opened up a little.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.