Where did today go?

One of those days when things just didn't quite come together ... although this is all minor stuff. I think I must have had a restless night: I slept long enough, but probably not deeply enough. So today I've done bitty jobs, in a bitty way.

Richard and I got some netting pegged up over the fan-trained cherry tree in the garden: the fruit is ripening, so it's us or the pigeons/blackbirds/squirrels, at this stage. We picked the first haul of ripe fruit too, a real treat.  I did a few other small bits of tidying up in the garden as well.

I edited some of yesterday's photos of Hetty and Patricia, but didn't get down to the next batch of sculpture images for the ArtUK project... that is now on tomorrow's list.

Now I'm sitting in Ruth and Josh's kitchen, babysitting for a short while (Eben and Luca are both asleep). Ruth and Josh had planned to visit some friends. But in the event they felt tired out... so we sat and had a cup of tea together and a companionable chat, and now they've gone for a quiet walk to the park and back, enjoying the last light of the warm summer evening.

Today's image is from the curry plant in the garden, with its bright yellow flower heads against grey-green foliage. Every time I brush past it, it releases a wonderful spicy perfume.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.