Along the Rivelin valley

A cool, shady walk with Val this morning, along the Rivelin Valley. The valley is full of echoes of Sheffield's metal-working industries, as the river powered many grinding wheels (and other bits of machinery) during the 18th and 19th centuries. Small dams, water courses and pieces of metalwork remain as reminders, half-hidden in the vegetation.
I love this chair, made (I think) by sculptor Jason Thomson (I will doublecheck that and correct it if necessary). It's a magnet for small children, but today being a school day, it was quiet.
Richard and I continue to follow the Tory leadership election, grim as it is. Today I heard Suella Braverman declare that she'd have to find a candidate to support who would get the UK out of the European Convention on Human Rights, as a priority. Onwards and downwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.