St. Mary the Virgin, Twyford

It was a dreich day in what should be the sunny heartland of Royal Berkshire. It has been consistently cloudy and rained on and off. A walk into the village was well timed and I was only slightly damp when I arrived at the local supermarket.

On the way I stopped at the Parish church and took a few photographs with at best moderate results. My excuse being the weather of course. I read in a magazine that converting a poor photograph to B&W does not make it any better, so I have added a vintage look to try to further disguise the failure.

The land on which St Mary's stands was given by Robert Palmer (of Huntley and Palmer biscuits) who lived at nearby Sonning; and he laid the foundation stone on 25 March 1846. Unlike the church in Sonning this one does not own a neighbouring pub, but t is only a short distance to the Duke of Wellington.

Until the last few days when I have posted a couple of pictures of neighbourhood churches I did not realise that Church of England Churches had such Roman Catholic sounding names.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.