African Basil

Several years ago, Kent & I went to a plant event at our local arboretum. Although it wasn’t part of the event, we saw a couple of large plants that were just full of bees.

We tracked down a worker and found out they were African Basil. I then spent a couple of years searching every garden center & nursery in the area for this plant. No luck.

This year I ordered a couple of seedlings from a nursery in California. They have done awesome and the bees love them

Any time of the day you find bees busy at the Basil blooms but the early morning the plants are a true hive of activity.

An added bonus is how wonderful the African Basil smells.

My day has been discombobulated but this evening Kent & I are going over the river to a friend’s house to pick up a couple of things she has for me to use.

I haven’t seen her in almost 2 years so really looking forward to this. She is the caregiver to her brother who has renal cancer so we both have to be extra careful about the Covid situation.

Take care of yourself and each other

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.