Eleven Years

The yellow guys getting into the celebration act once again. Eleven is a football team and therefore I thought I'd line them up like a team. Such is the flexibility, or lack of, in their joints, it wasn't possible to do the classic on-pitch team photo, with the front row crouching down, so instead I went for the 'penalty shoot-out' formation, arms linked as they stand on the halfway line. Side Before Self.
Eleven Years on Blipfoto. I won't repeat myself having had a recent review just two weeks ago but I will look back over the years.
1. Living in Hampton Place. Studying Photography at Stevenson College. Started slow, not taking a picture a day until almost eleven months after first signing up. Marked my first blipday with a spread in the Edinburgh Evening News.
2. Starting out as a freelance photographer. Still living at Hampton Place. Added a few back blips to mean there were exactly one hundred blips before the daily blipping started, which moved my blipday back a couple of weeks.
3. More work, documenting daily life and then latterly getting the house ready to move from Hampton Place.
4. Turned fifty, revisited Paris, sold up and moved out, into Connaught Place just off Ferry Road. A new part of town to blip.
5. After a few more months on the edge of Leith found a place to live in Portobello. Took fifty-fifty pictures for one hundred days. My mum died and blipping helped. Blipfoto became a CIC and I did my bit.
6. Making connections in Portobello and getting more photography work.
7. A bit more travel in the UK. Introducing new people to blip, who are still blipping four years on.
8. Documenting life in Portobello through my blips.
9. More work and more of Portobello life.
10. After several months of the same, everything changed as we went into the pandemic and lockdown.
11. A pandemic year, with restrictions and lockdowns and a slow resumption of activity, even if we are still some way from 'normal'. Will it ever return?
As always, thanks to the good people at Blip Central who do a wonderful job and to all the other blippers out there, those I know in person, those I have come to know online and those whose pictures just catch my eye as I browse the site. Long may you all continue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.