Celebration!!

Another Blipday and the little yellow guys insisted on being involved. They’d found a couple of old party poppers and, as the temperature was already in the mid-twenties Centigrade, we headed down to the beach. Just as well we had two poppers as the force of the first one rather took them by surprise [first extra]. They were better braced for the second attempt [second extra]!

Although it hasn’t been as restricted a year as the previous one, I do seem to have spent most of it in Portobello, with plenty of blips from the beach and wider Porty.

Lots of bird blips, like this hungry gull.
There was a new mural on the Prom and I photographed the artist.
The saddest of news about my friend A in July
I blipped from the Porty Market more than once.
We did get out of Portobello sometimes, visiting family in Dundee, or friends across Edinburgh and in Perthshire.
An old friend in Porty was hanging on in August.
Another Art Walk and another photo exhibition.

Twenty-five years in September.
Unexpected bird life.
International beach volleyball drew the crowds.
I took photographs for a number of community groups, including the beach wheelchairs.
We visited my sister at a different seaside in October.
And went to Wigtown for a writing week in November.
A storm blew off part of our tenement roof and buckled a groyne.

Covid boosters in December.
And another Window Wanderland in Porty.
Lots of work with Portobello Central - the group trying to get the Town Hall reopened - and Keep Porty Tidy through the year.

Some things didn’t change in January with the New Year. And others did.
Another photo project in the community came together in February.
In March there were signs of solidarity on the Prom.
I took Mother and Daughter portraits for a BIPP challenge.

Some Porty rowers have a much tougher challenge on their minds.
Also in April I unexpectedly met a friend on our street and we published a book.
There was something missing at the house where I grew up.
And I took another photo ‘On The Edge’.
Another family birthday in May.
And we went to Killin, where L dressed up as a beekeeper.
Joyful music on the Prom.
After Leeds survived for another season in the top flight, I returned to playing football after more than two years away.
Friends came to visit and so did the Marathon.

In June we visited a place we’d never been to.
And I photographed Ultimate on the beach, which ended up on the BBC website.
The choir sang on the beach and there was a litter pick and a street party, all for Porty Pride. As well as a Bike Fest at Bellfield.
I photographed the solstice dippers and L and G back busking on the Prom.

In July I saw some real wildlife. And took some pictures on the theme of <Salt> for this year’s photo exhibition.
L and I walked round Loch Leven.

As always, thanks to the great team at Blip Central who do a wonderful job and to all the other blippers out there, those I know in person, those I have come to know online and those whose pictures just catch my eye as I browse the site. Long may you all continue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.