Old Sauchiemill Project

After a lovely visit from the girls this morning we have spent an amazing afternoon being shown round the Old Sauchiemill Project. This is a 75 acre site just outside Stirling. It is a partner in the NorthWoods Rewilding Network. Within the land is the famous Howietoun Fishery developed in the 19th century and subsequently owned by Stirling University's Department of Aquaculture. There are 32 ponds which are now being restored, not for fish farming but as part of the rewilded habitat. The blip is the Fishery summer house built in 1886 as the office of Sir James Maitland who developed the fishery and who is known as the 'father of scientific aquaculture'. The scale of the project is huge. Within the site are fields to be organically and sustainably farmed, heritage buildings, a four acre walled garden, potting sheds, the old mill as well as the ponds and aquifers. The land is slowly being cleared of rubbish (17 skips' worth so far) so that a nature reserve can be established. Many trees are being planted.

I could write a lot more about this visit but I'm feeling quite overwhelmed by everything I saw and learned. I would love to go back and I hope I can. It's too much to take in in one visit and I'm so grateful to have had the time to look round today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.