a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Golden hour at the weir

Another warm and muggy night meant that at 5am this morning when the sun was due to come back over the horizon the temperature was still in the mid teens. 
I had hoped for some mist or even a little bit of a colourful sunrise, but there was hardly a cloud in the sky.  So instead of taking the landscape shot I had been planning I wandered into town.  It turned out to be an absolutely delightful temperature for a wander around the deserted City of Bath.  

I struggled to choose between these two shots of the weir by Pulteney Bridge.  In the end, I decided to go with the main as you get to see the fisherman who has made his way across the locked flood defences to take up position on the island.  

As a fisherman he's in competition with Bath's gull population, which is a pretty significant one nowadays.  This morning most of the bins in town had been raided by the seagulls, who have become very adept at emptying the contents over the street and then squabbling about them.  Its actually quite hard to get shots of these 2 views without loads of seagulls in shot.  To enable a slow enough shutter speed for me to blur the water, while not featuring loads of blurred birds as well I've stacked 5 shots for each of these images which generally gets rid of most of the birds in flight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.