carliewired

By carliewired

North Thompson with Smoke

My first look out the
window this morning was so
discouraging - smoke!

~ carliewired

I slept in until 6:30. I had to have a look at my mountains to gauge the day. I was not delighted to see that the wildfire smoke was back in our valleys. It looked grim once more. 

I tucked my quilted heart in my pocket as I left the house. I'd decided not to wander too far today. I parked along the Rivers Trail by the North Thompson River so I could walk the stretch by the two bridges. 

The red sun makes some eery reflections in the river. It runs red stripes along the walking path where it comes in between the trees. The eddies in the river seem to be boiling. I left my quilted heart attached to a tree. The wildflowers along this route are a welcome visual relief to the smokey atmosphere around. My mountains appear shrouded. 

On my way back to the car I spotted a city employee parked in an inaccessible spot. He was on his cell phone out of sight of homes or traffic. I love to catch these guys unawares. He went on his way quickly when he saw me take this photo. 

We've had issues with just such a rig and employee as this one in the past. I'd arrived at my office one morning early to discover a city truck and trailer parked in our entrance way, taking up half our driveway. Since our business property is private property, no worker need think they had rights or permission to be there. I stopped my vehicle beside it and the driver came over to me and got sassy while I'm telling him to leave. What he didn't know was I had the phone number for his boss in my phone. As I got out of my car I was describing what I was seeing to his boss on my phone. The fellow quickly shut up and left even faster. It didn't happen again. 

No take out breakfast for me today. I had to get home to get some things ready for a meeting today over lunch. I'm providing the lunch. There are things I must get done this morning in preparation. 

I'm 2 weeks from my second vaccination today. It won't change the way I do things, really. I'll still be wearing my mask and living life as a hermit. However, it does make me feel somewhat safer and less anxious. 

It was 15 C when I left the house this morning. It's going to be hot today with a high of 36 C. It will be indoors with the A/C for me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.