carliewired

By carliewired

6:00 AM in Riverside

Another hazy
start to our day - a crimson
sun stretches over

~ carliewired

The air quality registered 3 (low risk) and the temperature was 17 C when I left the house at 5:45 this morning. My eyes are not happy with this smoke. We got a bit of relief last evening but it's settled in again over night. 

I pulled on a pair of capris I haven't worn in the last year to discover they were a little too snug. My drive-thru breakfast is going to have to be discontinued or I will be a roly poly before summer is over. :-((

I arrived at Riverside Park as the 6 AM news was coming on my radio. I parked beside another car in the handicapped section. The driver got out, struggled with a pair of crutches and tossed a backpack over one shoulder. As we were moving along into the park in the same direction, a conversation began. I jokingly said, "So, you're not here to play pickle ball this morning?" He explained that he was coming to work after spraining his foot over the weekend. He is the fellow who runs the ride-on lawnmower through the park. He'd been to x-ray so he knew he didn't have a break. He could see no reason not to be at work today. However, the city, in its infinite wisdom, thought he should not be coming into work on crutches. We parted at the wee building that houses his lawnmower and I went on with my camera to see what I could find this morning.

That evil red sun holds a fascination for me. It also makes for interesting photos. The Canada geese posed conveniently for me on the shoreline. 

I was surprised by a little band of gulls along the river. I think they must be juveniles as I cannot identify them by their colouring.

It was so grey this morning that the park lights were still on near the pier. 

The usual squirrel came out to see what I was doing along the pathway. 

I took my shots and turned back to the parking lot. The lawnmower man was setting himself up as I walked past. He wasn't having a good start at all. There was a mess to clean up before he could get the mower out. He'd lost his gloves somewhere walking in and he'd put his take-out coffee inside his backpack hoping to manage but it spilled out in his pack. As I was commiserating with him, another city worker arrived. She'd been sent to replace him for the day. He had to jump on his cell phone to correct that problem as he felt quite capable of performing his job today. As I started across the park I found his gloves and returned them to him. I wished him a good day in spite of its unfortunate start. 

I'd left my quilted heart on my cutting table this morning, instead of tucking it into my pocket. I will release it later this morning on the north shore when I go to my morning appointment. 

We're looking at a high of 31 C today with a chance of showers in the afternoon. I will hope that precipitation does not include lightning. We already have fires all around us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.