carliewired

By carliewired

5:30 AM

Smoke fills the air in
bleary layers - my eyes are 
irritated now

~ carliewired

For whatever reason, I was awake at 3 AM. I sat in my recliner with my laptop and caught up on a few activities. 

I left the house just after 5 with plans to see what was going on at the airport. It was 15 C with an air quality rated as 2 (low risk). I just missed the last helicopter and bucket taking off for the day as I drove along Ord Road. I did catch three bad boys snacking on the roadside. The three bighorn sheep were right on the road completely unconcerned about vehicle traffic. They grazed hungrily on all the green plants they could find. 

As I drove by my old school, I could see that the yard was completely filled with personnel and equipment today. Yesterday, our provincial premier announced a state of emergency for our province. Many of us wonder what took so long. The BC Wildfire Service organizes and coordinates everything that has to do with fighting wildfires. At 5:30 AM the school yard was buzzing with activity. Crews were beginning to leave for the day. I give my thanks each day for the men and women who are engaged in this dangerous field. 

I drove out to Vantage Point on the Thompson River near the airport. I could see my mountains dimly through our smokey atmosphere. I took note of the Canadian Forces helicopters parked at the airport. It is encouraging to see them at the ready. 

I left my quilted heart on the fence near the dock for the water craft. I have now released 70 quilted hearts since March 21. I will take a rest in the production. I've tidied up my sewing space and tucked away my scraps and batting.

Today is my daughter's birthday. There will be presents and a dinner this evening. The day she was born was a hot, sunny day, like today but without smoke. She was born at home, quite by accident, I can assure you! 

We might expect a high of 28 C with a chance of showers later in the evening and overnight. Could we be so lucky?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.