carliewired

By carliewired

Smoke and Cloud

The morning begins
with a pall of smoke over
the city again

~ carliewired

I was out the door at 6:30 heading for McArthur Island. The temperature was 15 C. Had it not been for the smoke hanging over us, it would have been a refreshing morning. 

I was interested in the south end of the park. I took notice of the usual wildlife. 

The marmots do not appear in great numbers these days. I'm wondering if some have gone into hibernation already. Those that do appear are rather rotund. (Like me after too many breakfast croissants!)

The Canada geese cruise through the parking lot, always on the lookout for something to eat. I can barely tell the parents from the babies now. It is only observable in their behaviour. The parents are still on guard and leading their little band. The babies just graze and follow the lead. 

This morning I caught Tina running by them. She used to be a favourite teller at my bank. Now retired, she walks the park each day. We get a chat now and then. 

I took a good look at the Xeriscape Garden by the east entrance to the park. It is looking quite beautiful. Flowers are in abundance and the area is well tended by the park grounds staff. This patch in the park was set up to demonstrate what a xeriscape garden could look like and what plants could appear in xeriscaping.

The city of Kamloops has encouraged xeriscaping as a way to conserve water usage in our semi-arid climate. The city reports that the average resident uses 800 to 850 litres of water per day. In the summer that water consumption 1800 litres of water per day per person. 80% of that summer water goes to yard maintenance and other outdoor usage. 

I'm getting my first pedicure this morning since covid began last year. I will be wearing my mask, but feeling so much more confident after my two vaccinations are now behind me. 

My daughter's birthday dinner was so generous in quantities that I will be going back for lunch leftovers today. Joy!!

I will be spending my day indoors. The forecast is for a high of 28 C with a 30% chance of showers. I'm not holding much hope for the showers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.