carliewired

By carliewired

Hazy at 6 AM

The smokey skies are
still with us - it cannot be
good for man or beast

~ carliewired

I was out the door at 5:30 heading up the hill to the lookout on Columbia Street. It was 15 C and would have felt refreshing were it not for the smoke in the air. 

I took my long shots of the smokey valleys from the hill, then drove downtown to Riverside Park's east end. I parked near our arena, the Sandman Centre to walk that edge of the park. 

Some of the lights along the river's shore remained on as a testimony to the grey of the morning. Every view this morning was hazy. 

I discovered an art installation beside the arena that I hadn't noticed before. "Lend a Hand" by Lee-Anne Chisholm and Aaron Harder is dedicated to volunteers. The site for this piece was selected because it was an evacuation centre for those displaced by wildfires. Countless volunteers provided care and shelter for evacuees...and here we are again! 

At the fringe of the parking lot I found two people sleeping, one in a chair, one on the ground. I see such scenes in various parts of the city. Despite programmes and facilities available, some homeless people end up outside. It is a big concern. Kamloops is not the only city struggling with this issue. It is happening in many locations. I have no idea how this can be resolved. 

The weather forecast promises a high of 31 C with a mix of sun and cloud. I don't know that we will see the sky to notice anyway! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.