carliewired

By carliewired

Vantage Point in Smoke

It's another day
of grim, grey skies with a red
sun glaring at us

~carliewired

It was 15 C when I drove away from the house at 5:30. I had been up early and sat drinking coffee at 4 waiting for the light to come up. 

I arrived at Vantage Point, the sea plane dock near the airport, just in time to watch a helicopter and bucket take off and head east. We have some wildfires that are fought in rugged terrain so these helicopters can drop water and refill themselves without having to return to the airport. I am always impressed with the technology used to fight fires. 

My mountains were almost invisible this morning. Our air quality index is rated as 8 (high risk). I was not wanting to hang around for very long there. 

I found a plastic plant left on a bench. I'm not sure if that is someone's offering. It seemed an odd item to find in the area where I would leave a quilted heart. 

I discovered a plaque in memory of a local man, Ken Martin, who had been instrumental in having this sea plane dock constructed. At the base of the plaque sits a chrome eagle. I'm not sure if it is a hood ornament but I understand Mr. Martin was a mechanic. He died suddenly last summer but is remembered fondly by his family and friends. I did not notice this memorial before so I think it is quite new. 

My last shots are of the red sun over Batchelor Heights, my neighbourhood. I have really had enough of smokey skies. I'm tired of taking photos in grim conditions. 

I will turn my attention back to my first love, quilting, just to keep myself busy and doing something positive. I just received a parcel of fabric this week so I have lots to occupy my time as I'm rather housebound anyway. 

We're looking at a high of 32 C with smoke. Ugh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.