Extraordinary Ears

Flora gives it 100% when she is allowed to run round in long grass. She is a joyful dog at any time and today she was in overdrive.

We had collected her doggy pal guide dog Merlin for his 6 monthly check at the vet. Our vet, so conveniently located a 30 second walk from the house, is operating only from her Callander surgery during covid. Merlin's owner can't possibly take him but it's no problem, though a half hour drive, for us. This must be the third check we've taken Merlin to since lockdown started. He did well this time and had a good report.

While Merlin was being checked Flora and I had a walk then rendezvoused in the middle of Callander. I don't dislike Callander but it is full of tartan tat and gets very busy. A walk along the old railway line in the shade, and a swim for Flora to cool down, was far more to my liking than walking in the town.

Home now. It is very hot. 26° is at, or maybe beyond, the upper limit of my comfort zone. It takes a lot for this house, which is Victorian sandstone, to warm up but it is definitely getting hot this year. I'll be out watering plants later. Apologies to friends in the Northern Isles who I know aren't having a heatwave.

It was so heartening to read blip comments yesterday from people continuing to observe covid restrictions. What a socially conscious, considerate, sensible bunch we are. It is hot behind a mask these days but I feel it's the least I can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.