NOT much to see - yet.

Another of my odd edibles I'd almost forgotten.  Courtesy of habit of laxness in the SD-card department I was, fortunately, able to track down the fact that I bought "Apios" and "Mashua" a wee bit late (15th May); and eventually almost forgot them until the Apios was over a foot tall.
"Apios Americana:-
Other common names

cinnamon vine, ground nut, ground pen, Indian potato, mic-mac potato, North American potato bean, North American wild bean, pig potato, potato bean, potato pea, sagabon, trailing pea, tuberose wisteria, tuberous-rooted wisteria, white apple, wild bean"
If that lot isn't proof of the need for Gardeners' "Latin" I don't know what is?
Any fastidious grammarian might find this next paragraph a bit odd, though I think I understand why, since I can't find a plural for Apios.
;¬)
"Apios are a genus of tender, perennial vine which produce edible beans and tubers.  Popular during Victorian times, it produced small, scented racemes of purple coloured flowers."
The Mashua, unsurprisingly, hasn't shown face.  It is, apparently, related to the Tropaeolum struggling valiantly under the Yew. 
"Maybe next year?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.