NEWCASTLE

Didn't sleep very well last night.  Kept waking up, getting up and pottering around and then back to bed but not sleeping for long before getting up again. I think it was a combination of the heat and having terrible acid reflux/heartburn which I've been suffering with for ages. 

Every day Susie Dent of the TV show Countdown tweets her Word of the Day and todays word was ....forwallowed - a 15th century word meaning " weary from tossing and turning all night".  That word certainly seemed appropriate to me today.

During one of the periods I was up I decided to do the "Antibody Test " which I had been sent.  I have been a member of the YouGov panel for years and they asked recently whether I would be willing to do a Covid Antibody test and I said I would.  The kit arrived a couple of days ago.  You had to watch a long video before doing the test so I started watching that.  All the items in the kit had to be placed on a low table - so I used my coffee table  Then you had to get a bowl of warm water and warm your left hand for 2 mins.  Then you had to twirl your arm around for one minute.  This was to get the blood flowing.  The main thing I gathered from the video was that it was likely to be difficult to obtain blood.  However in my case it was just the opposite,  When I used the device to prick my finger blood was gushing everywhere.  I had no problem filling the tiny vial provided.  The coffee table looked like a crime scene with blood everywhere.  I wiped all that up and packaged the vial of blood and forms into the box ready for posting.  Job done.

Back to bed for one last time.  I actually slept better this time and got up around noon.  Quick breakfast then bus to Newcastle.

Decided to walk up to Leazes Park.  My route took me past St James Park football ground - home of Newcastle United. Took my blip shot for the Wide Wednesday challenge.  The theme is LARGE.  I thought the large buildings on the left which have sprung up in recent years and the large stucture of the football ground would fit the bill.  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

Carried on to Leazes Park.  Its lovely there - a large park with a beautiful lake.  Took a few photos.  The collage in my Extras shows the lake, some birds in flight, cows grazing on the Town Moor, another view of St James Park, the big gates at St James Park and a statue of Alan Shearer.

After wandering around the park for a bit I made my way back into the centre of town and did some shopping in M & S and Waitrose.  When I got home the weather was still lovely so I sat outside for a while reading the free Waitrose newspaper.  No recipes I fancied this week.

Remembering my Dad Ernie today on his birthday.  He was born on 21st July 1923 and passed away in 1995.  He was a hard working man who enjoyed a drink at the local Working Mens Club.  Never forgotten. Photo in Extras is me and my Dad.

I'm definitely weary this evening so I'm hoping for a good nights sleep. 

Steps today - 9,338

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.