Marionb

By Marionb

Soft Is The Song.....

... My Paddle Sings.

The highlight of my day was getting in the canoe with my daughter and paddling around our two back bays - and I do mean it was the "getting in" that was the highlight - and of course,  the getting out too. The paddling part was easy! 

There was a time when I could do a lot of things - like hike a mountain trail, ride a mountain bike, pitch a tent, walk a balance beam, and get in and out of a canoe! And then I got older....and forgot that you have to actually work at keeping up your fitness level? Who knew? As a result, here I am, challenged by anything that requires stamina, balance, flexibility or strength. Pretty much rules out paddle boarding, canoeing, sailing, diving, distance swimming, so many of the things that make cottage life fun. I would really like to change that. 

Today I felt like going out in the canoe but needed someone to go with me, and was wishing that I could feel confident enough to take it out on my own. My daughter, who is going home tomorrow,  offered to take on the task today of figuring out and practising the best ways for me to get in and out of that thing safely, so I could use the canoe even when I am here alone.  So we did. It was quite a challenge, but we finally figured out a way. And then we celebrated with a paddle around the bay checking out the beaver lodges - we have three, two are occupied, one has been abandoned. (In the photo, we are approaching one that is currently occupied). We continued around the shoreline and discovered some pickerel weed that is starting to bloom and came across a couple of sand pipers that were too quick to photograph! As we glided past the other occupied beaver lodge, we actually heard a beaver inside...how neat is that? 

This is what I have missed - being able to spend time on the water, enjoying the peace, quiet and solitude, and staying in touch with the rhythm of life out there in those little bays..

So, my challenge now is to work at my "getting in and out" skills, so I can do this whenever I want, with or without someone around to help!  

Earlier in the day I had photographed this monarch butterfly that has been hanging around and had intended it to be today's "main blip" - until it was overshadowed by my canoeing  lesson. ( removed)


  


 


   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.