First tomatoes of the season

I spent the morning delivering 150 Save Bearsted Allotments leaflets in the area around the site. I’d arranged for lots of other people to deliver in the village too. Many people who are not allotment holders volunteered to help and I had nothing but supportive comments from people I spoke to while out on my rounds and on our website.

A much cooler day, thankfully as I covered over 4 miles on my route. Add to that I went to the allotment in the afternoon to mow the grass and pick stuff then it’s not surprising I felt weary this evening.

I have a follow up appointment with a practice nurse on Tuesday to check on the progress of my leg and to begin the investigation as to why I keep getting cellulitis and how I might reduce the chances of further bouts of the infection.

We usually pick our first tomatoes around the time schools break up so we’re not too far off this year despite the challenging weather. Looking forward to 10 weeks of our own tomatoes. There’s nothing better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.