49th Street Trailhead

       I went over to Santos today, by myself.   Since No one else was with me I choose to go all the way out to the 49 St Trailhead.  It's a very long ride,  with a temp of 90 degrees,  some breeze and a good bit of shade.
      On the way out, I saw a father with 2 kids riding their small bikes, not 12 inches tall.     
      I had bought a pair of red bicycle gloves for spare.  But they were way too small for me.   Rather than return them and hassle with the seller, I decided to take them to Santos and give them to a child.   Nothing finer than a dad with his 2 sons, on bikes.  I stopped the dad, asked permission to give the children the gloves and explained why I couldn't keep them.   Once dad wasn't suspicious  ( too many violent people out there hurting children and parents) he said yes.  I showed him the gloves and both of the young boys were thrilled.   So was I!    Mission accomplished!

      I continued my ride out to the 49th St Trailhead.  It was a fabulous 15 mile ride, up and down long climbs and down hills.   At one point, I was going 24 mph down a long grade in the sun, on the pavement, in shade, around trees.   So much fun!
      On the way back I stopped to get some pictures.  The top right is another mirror before a culvert.  It wasn't as dramatic as the other one I  found, but still nice.     The top right is looking into and under the culvert that I went through.  I liked the truck on the road  above.  It was pretty nice.
       On the way back, about 7 miles out from Santos, I realized I was really hot and sweating buckets.  The 2 quarts of Gatorade and 3 bottles of cold water needed a little help.  I was close to Cactus Jack's Trailriding barn, that was right next to a rest area for bikers with bathroom facilities.   I turned, went inside, and put my head under the faucet and let the cold water soak me.....IT FELT GRAND!!!!!!
    I met a lady there who was a magazine writer.  While I rested, we chatted and enjoyed a great break and conversation.........
when a group of trail riders came down the fence and headed out to the forrest.  My last picture is some of the dozen riders.
       On the way home I was famished.  I loaded Silver and went to McAlisters where I had a great salad, 2 full glasses of cold tea, and a large sugar cookie.
     Now it's the end of a wonderful day.  I am full, showered, and exhausted. ( 32 miles round trip today). I will watch a little Olympics and then go to bed.    I hear it calling me.   Sweet dreams everybody.   Mine will be .  I have to set the alarm and get up a 6 am.. I have an 8:30 Dentist Appointment!    Yuck!!!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.