carliewired

By carliewired

Morning - Thompson River

It's a smoke-filled day
unfolding in the Thompson
Valley - no surprise! 

~ carliewired

I parked in Riverside Park just before 6:30. The temperature was 16 C which felt lovely to walk in. Air quality was 3 (low risk), a great improvement over the 10+ when I was drinking my coffee at 4 AM.

My intention was to walk up the Rivers Trail ramp to the Overlander Bridge. I wasn't sure if my feet were up to the task, but I made it! I see that the sandbars are exposed again, now that the river has gone down. In the afternoon, one will see sunbathers and beach umbrellas filling those spaces. I was pleasantly surprised to see the "survivor tree" has made it through yet another flood season. It is decorated with the evidence of high water debris. It reminded me somewhat of a knitting project with the needles sticking out at odd angles. 

On my walk back down to my little red bomber, I noticed a street sign posted along the ramp's fencing. I'm not understanding what Angel Street refers to when the route is already designated as the Rivers Trail. The sign seemed to be in sharp contrast to the razor wire above the fence. 

One cheeky squirrel came out to chatter at me. I only managed one quick shot of him as he flitted up and down the pine tree. 

I have an urge to go to the fabric store today. Must make that trip before the day really heats up. We're going for a high of 33 C today. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.