Wetlands - Tranquille

I didn't want to 
miss the cool of morning so
I drove off early

~carliewired

I was up at 5:30 looking out to see what the morning light would offer today. It didn't seem spectacular so I made coffee and took my time with my first big mug. At 7 I was on my way to Tranquille to check on the wetlands. 

I parked first for a view to the farm across the wetlands. As our summer heat intensifies, the wetlands will continue to recede. Few birds can be seen here now. I suspect they've gleaned all the best that flood waters provide here. As the water level drops these areas become stagnant. The rivers and lakes must be much more attractive to the water fowl now. 

I drove on to the road along Tranquille Farms. A lovely doe crossed the road ahead of me, then hopped over the fence. She paused to look back at me. I appreciated the pose. She picked up each foot carefully to pick her way across the sun-dried field. I wondered if the dry vegetation felt prickly to her. 

I noticed that the wild flowers and weeds along the roadway are already drying out with just a few days of hot weather. The blue chicory is fading and the white clematis is well tangled into the other plants. 

I turned my car around at the end of the road, then made several stops for photos on the return. I caught my mountains across the wetlands, then I got several photos looking across the wetlands from the road. 

Before home I stopped for some groceries, my drive-thru breakfast and a refill for my gas tank. 

I am in for the day and will be hiding from the heat. My daughter and I are puttering with some household jobs. 

We can expect a sunny day with a high of 36 C. Temperatures are to increase as the week wears on. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.