Monday Morning - Riverside Park

The cool of morning
is so enticing that I 
willingly miss sleep

~carliewired

I was out on my deck just after 5 to get some of that morning colour that was on offer. I decided to make my coffee before leaving the house. I sat in my recliner and enjoyed that mug! 

At 6:30 I thought I should get on with it. I headed across the bridge to the downtown and drove into Riverside Park on the west side. I've been avoiding the park for some weeks. It's still in a shambles. All the best parts, the river shore, is still behind construction fences. 

The waterpark has yet to be finished. It is a complete mess. It was all torn up before the materials needed to redo it were available. The city dithered about whether or not to rent temporary equipment but then decided against it. Seriously, our city elections in the fall need to provide us with  capable, functioning leadership and some major changes in the administration. THIS is not working. 

I found some of the highrise marmots at the Celtic Stones. They seem to have a new neighbour who'd taken up residence near a large pine tree. He eyed me cautiously from his burrow. 

I walked half way up the bike path to the bridge to see the 'survivor tree' had made it through another season of high water. It was clinging on in the channel for dear life.  Across to the north shore I could see the gulls were making the most of the newly exposed sand. Over the weekend this small patch of beach was hugely enjoyed by locals. 

My last shot was of the confluence and my mountains to the east. 

I was home by 7:30 with some breakfast. I must go out to service my car this afternoon. Otherwise, it's an inside day with the A/C. 

Our area is under a heat warning with a heat wave expected for the last half of the week. Today, we have a mainly sunny day with a high of 34 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.