Beinghere

By Beinghere

Alstroemeria

Early (for me) rise, with Maggie all cheery and ready to start her day.  It`s good that one of us was.
Maggie`s grandparents picked her up at 9.30, and Geordie and I headed to our usual woods.
It was quiet and peaceful in the woods, save for the sound of wood pigeons, collared doves, magpies and a few small birds high up.  There`s still the feint low hum of insects to be heard, and, of course, the crunch of my walking boots on very dry ground.
I saw a bird I didn`t recognise; the size of a magpie, mostly brown, black and white at rear.  I wondered if it was a young magpie.  Need to get the books out.
In the afternoon I dozed on the sofa, then measured up for my new fence, and considered my options.
Then we had a walk around town, stopping at The Hub (post office, newsagent, pharmacist, and grocer) for one or two things.  The queue looked long, but it moved fairly quickly.  We walked home via the harbour and the shore, watched a few intrepid souls in the bathing pool, then across the park to home.
I`ve got both Hannah and Maggie tomorrow for the day.  I usually just have one at a time because together they can be a handful, but neither sets of grandparents can have them tomorrow.  So I`d better try to get a good night`s sleep.
Not sure whether to water garden tonight.  The promised rain never arrived today.  If it doesn`t rain overnight I will need to water it in the morning before the girls come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.