WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

1899

I haven't been far today (so what's new?). So here's the building that was once the PTT (post office) in Ferrals. It's huge. The slot in the wall with steps up to it is the postbox. Now you would have to gamble with passing cars if you decided to use it. 

It rained this morning! Very pleasing. There was a little more rain than the few drops forecast, so hopefully it has dampened down the remaining embers; the fire brigade had to deal with a couple of small residual blazes over the last two days.

I went swimming, in splendid isolation as usual. We all had to have our swimming pool cards redone so the Mairie could verify we have our pass sanitaire. It's pretty ridiculous, but we don't want to get the Mairie into trouble if the gendarmes decide to pop round for a spot check. Which they might possibly do as it's the only municipal swimming pool for miles around.

I made a bit more effort than I normally do when cooking for just me, and made a ratatouille; my recipe is more work than some, but it's worth being pernickety because it's delicious and even better the next day. I used a white aubergine; they allegedly taste better than purple ones. I also wrote up Sandrine's aubergine tart recipe for my blog; I can't wait to make it again.

I did not get excited about the British government saying it would accept vaccine certificates from the US and the EU for arrivals from amber list countries, because I knew they would keep France in its own special category so that they could exclude it. In any case it won't make any difference for S, who is still locked in with his mum. He's been doing a lot of cooking: prawn cocktail, roast beef and Yorkshire pudding, and bilberry tart for lunch today. 

I felt sad for the amazing Simone Biles. I was thinking how dangerous it would be for her to compete if she didn't feel 100% confident, and this article about "the twisties" seems to bear that out.  Good for her for looking out for her own wellbeing, and good for her team for supporting her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.